UPDATED TIMELY TOPICS FROM ST. CHARLES BORROMEO

ASH WEDNESDAY, FEB. 14

Ash Wednesday, February 14, is the day many Christians mark as the first day of Lent. Lent is a time
of reflection and penitence leading up to Easter Sunday.
At St. Charles, Mass will be celebrated at 5:30 p.m. on Ash Wednesday. Ashes will be placed on
the foreheads of participants.

******
MINISTRY MEETING, FEB. 16

The heads of the various ministries will meet after the 12:10 Mass on Feb. 16.
TIMELINE FOR FEB. 16:
• CATECHESIS CLASS FOR ALL @ 11 A.M.
• MASS FOR ALL @ 12:10 P.M.
• POTLUCK MEAL FOR HEADS OF MINISTRIES AFTER 12:10 MASS
(Remember that Fridays during Lent are meatless meals).
• MEETING OF HEADS OF MINISTRY TEAMS FOLLOWING LUNCH
• STATIONS OF THE CROSS AT 5:10 P.M. FOR ALL CHURCH MEMBERS
• Cursillo members will lead this first Stations of the Cross for Lent

******
STATIONS OF THE CROSS

Stations of the Cross for all members of St. Charles will be on Fridays during Lent at 5:10 p.m.

******
PENANCE SERVICE, MARCH 16

As a special preparation for Easter, there will be a Penance Service at St. Charles on Friday, March 16.
Penance Service will follow the 5:10 p.m. Stations of the Cross.

******
USE RICE BOWLS DURING LENT

You are all invited to take home one of the paper Rice Bowls in the vestibule, read the
flyer folded inside, and begin saving the money from your Lenten sacrifices. Near the end of
Lent we will turn in the money we have collected and it will be sent to Catholic Relief Services.
Thanks to all who participate in this way to help change the lives of the poor.

******

QUESTION AND ANSWER ABOUT LENTEN PRACTICE FROM USCCB
Q.  I understand that all the Fridays of Lent are days of abstinence from meat, but I'm not sure what is
classified as meat.  Does meat include chicken and dairy products?
A.  “Abstinence laws consider that meat comes only from animals such as chickens, cows, sheep or
pigs -- - all of which live on land. Birds are also considered meat. Abstinence does not include meat
juices and liquid foods made from meat.  Thus, such foods as chicken broth, consommé, soups cooked
or flavored with meat, meat gravies or sauces, as well as seasonings or condiments made from animal
fat are technically not forbidden.  However, moral theologians have traditionally taught that we should
abstain from all animal-derived products (except foods such as gelatin, butter, cheese and eggs, which
do not have any meat taste).  Fish are a different category of animal.  Salt and freshwater species of
fish, amphibians, reptiles, (cold-blooded animals) and shellfish are permitted.”Type your paragraph here.

Copyright 2014. Star of the Sea Catholic Church . All rights reserved.